Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: YMCA Educational Services (YES!)–Stephanie W.

This month’s blog entry is difficult to write. Much of my time was spent in the hospital where I lost my sister to a rare auto-immune disease that attacked her brain. The wound is so fresh, but I do want to mention and acknowledge the amazing community who embraced my sister and then showed the same love and support to me and my family. My parents had concerns about how my sister was doing away from home, but were pleasantly surprised to meet the people who had spent so much time with them*. This community pulled together resources to help my family and sister through this difficult time and I am eternally grateful for that.

❤ COMMUNITY ❤

*My sister identified as gender queer and preferred the pronouns they/them/their. Side note: I am proud that Chinese uses a gender neutral pronoun.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2017 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
