Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

A Tough Transition – September 2016

After being an intern at Global Green, transitioning to a full time position was going to be a challenge. What was more challenging, however, was fitting in to a national nonprofit as an AmeriCorps VISTA. Distinguishing myself as more than an intern took time and I had to prove that I was capable of taking on tasks that held weight in the organization.

This is what the majority of my first two months as a VISTA thus far have consisted of. To be able to successfully work toward the VISTA mission of alleviating poverty by building capacity within my organization I needed to work harder than I ever had before to prove that my skills were what the organization needed to move forward. This meant that I had my hands in a lot of different projects and found myself trying to figure out where to focus my energy. As I have moved through these past couple of months, I have worked toward finding my place as a full time member of the organization and letting everyone know, not just my local coworkers, that I am here because I care about Global Green and I want to help us move forward.

At the same time, though, I found myself questioning what “building capacity” means in a national non-profit that has been around for 20 years. We have such a strong team with so many different strengths, I wondered sometimes where I was going to fit in and how big of an impact I could have. As an environmental non-profit, we are working against a lot of factors, whether that be convincing people that sustainability is important or finding funding in a sometimes-oversaturated pool of applicants. These challenges are some that I hope to work through and help Global Green push past. As I continue my term and my time at Global Green, I will work to figure out how we can stand out as an organization and how I can be a part of that.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2017 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
