Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Urban Heroes 2016: One Small Step

 

urban-heroes-2

Last year, my organization hosted the 2016 Urban Heroes Celebration. This event is our annual fundraiser in partnership with the Urban Conservancy our parent organization. At this event, community leaders who have been instrumental in shaping our vision for a vibrant and resilient New Orleans are recognized. This year, we honored Andreanecia Morris, Keith Twitchell, Leora Madden, & Phyllis Cassidy. This event took place at Hotel Storyville.

At this event we are able to highlight the progress that our community and organization had made to promote equitable access to resources within the city and our region’s economic, environment, and cultural assets. In addition, we were able to enjoy music by Joy Clark, a local artist and delicious finger food. Leading up to this event, we had spent several months planning and organizing. I was very proud to be a part of this project. I had the opportunity to witness all of steps that were in place to make this event successful. From sending out invitations to seeking out products for our raffle, my coworkers and I were quite busy leading up to the day of the event. Overall, our event was successful. We sold the majority of our items from the silent auction and we received a lot of money from raffle sales.

urban-heroes-3

When I was in college, I did a lot of event planning as a Residential Adviser and Affinity Leader. I lived in a house called 7th Street House, a house dedicated to the study of the black diaspora. In both positions, I would host a number of different programs like professional development workshops and movie nights. I had spent a lot of time planning programs that I believe could have a long impact.

As Program Assistant for StayLocal, I am always creatively thinking about programs that I believe could be very beneficial to the organization.  Moreover, I aim to provide my coworkers with ideas that I believe could have a positive impact. Our Urban Heroes deserves to be recognized because they are doing things that people might have easily given up on. Ultimately, our work revolves around the communities needs and we are glad that we can help.

♥ Bri

About Brianna Cunningham

I am a recent graduate who majored in Sociology & English - Literary Studies.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2017 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
