Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

The Journey to Mastering New Orleans Cuisine

One of the best aspects of New Orleans is the food. From tasty beignets to the savory taste of gumbo, New Orleans has some of the most flavorful dishes in the world. New Orleans cuisine is influenced by Soul, Cajun, and Creole food. What a great mix!

My first New Orleans dish was jambalaya, a dish that consist of meat, vegetables, and rice. Yum! Although, I have not tried all of New Orleans food, what I enjoy most about eating New Orleans food is its special blend of spices. It includes onion powder, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and more.

jambalaya-4-2

A Dish of Jambalaya 

Food is made to be shared and I want to make New Orleans dishes that I can share with my friends and family. About one month ago on a Sunday evening, I decided that the first New Orleans dish that I was going to master was Red Beans.  Usually, red beans will include pickled pork, sausage, or any meat of choice with bay leaves, thyme, garlic, and cayenne pepper.

So, later that week I picked up all of the ingredients I needed. I soaked my red beans overnight on a Saturday and later the next day, the process began! After about seven hours, I had come to find that my beans were tender and ready to eat.

FCF.JPG

Willie Mae’s Fried Chicken & Red Beans w/Rice

After attending the New Orleans 2016 Fried Chicken Festival, I was rejuvenated felt like my red beans would come out even better ext time after eating Willie Mae’s Fried Chicken w/ rice and beans. Not only was the two pieces of white meat that I had deliciously seasoned and juicy but my red beans were all so good.  The  second time I made the beans I soaked the beans in seasoning. And yes! I used less water this time. And guess what? My beans had a creamy texture and they were tasty. This is surely not the end in my journey to mastering New Orleans Cuisine and I look forward to what I will be making next.

❤ Bri

About Brianna Cunningham

I am a recent graduate who majored in Sociology & English - Literary Studies.

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2016 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
