Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

A Lesson in Self-Care

Trigger warning: passing mention of eating disorders/body dysmorphia

Tuesday night my roommate found me like this: no pants, kneeling in front of our porcelain god, dried charcoal on my lips, and half digested chana masala in the bowl, clouding my reflection.

A typical Saturday night? Nope, try again. (But wait, you say! You noticed that I started the last paragraph with Tuesday. Yes, yes, nicely done.)

Yeah, so basically I had my head in the toilet because of an 8 hour stress-induced migraine. Two kinda screwed-up things happened after I threw up:

  1. I weighed myself (which is a whole other aspect of screwed-up beauty ideal tangent that is not relevant to this post, ahem.)
  2. I went back to my computer and attempted to keep working on a major deadline for work.

Just a moment. WHAT?! Thankfully, my roommate stepped in and told me the obvious, which was I needed to take care of myself/get better and not make myself sicker by trying to do more work.

The end of the story is happier than the beginning: I called in a sick day the next day, and spent the day sleeping and drinking water and when 5:00 rolled around, I felt much more human.

This entire episode felt like a wake-up call, and I actually sat down and wrote out a “self-care” schedule that set boundaries for my day work (9-5 Mon-Thurs) and set aside time for each day for working out, making art, cooking/eating healthy food, and calling far-away friends and family (all activities that had slowly disappeared as I started putting work ahead of other activities – even art!)

img_0776

Exhibit A: Drawing/sketching. I realized I need to set aside some time every day to draw or carve wood, make any kind of art, to feel whole.

Questions/thoughts I’m still pondering:

  1. How does perfectionism evolve into self-harm? Is it just a slippery slope? Why do I feel like I’m only doing a good job if I’m working myself past the point of being sick?
  2. Is self-care even possible for ALL workers in a capitalist economy/society?
  3. I do think that self-care is not a possibility for the majority of minimum-wage jobs, especially jobs that involve manual labor. I am privileged to work somewhere where my co-workers value my whole being. At the same time, why doesn’t every job view self-care as a necessity? (This line of thought/questioning makes me think a lot about the lack of self-care culture/mental healthcare services at Oberlin (and most US colleges? Not sure, as I haven’t experienced being a student at other institutions.)
  4. I’m also reminded of one of the first essays in bell hooks’ collection of essays, Teaching to Transgress, which suggests that if teachers aren’t self-actualized, holistic beings that care about their own well-being, they can’t be good teachers to their students! Makes me think of trauma stewardship: the realization that if you aren’t taking care of yourself, you can’t take care of other people.

 

2 comments on “A Lesson in Self-Care

  1. Emily Wcislo
    September 22, 2016

    Beautifully written Shosh!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2016 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
