Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field report: June-BIA

June was a relatively busy month for me because of all the changes that appeared to be occurring simultaneously.  As I mentioned last month, the food coordinators will be taking on a more prominent role at the pantry as my VISTA term draws to a close. So, I spent a lot of time in May updating protocols and other educational material that I will be leaving behind. I also updated my sustainability binder and shared it with the AmeriCorps VISTA that will be assisting with some of the task I worked on during my VISTA year.

Further, I was required to complete the aforementioned task while working on several new 5kprojects which include the following: Broadmoor 5k Committee planning and recruitment, Arts and Wellness Center Rental Outreach, and Teaching Kitchen program development. June also marked the beginning of the re-certification period for our pantry clients and a temporary change in  pantry hours  in order to accommodate the Gloria Day Summer Camp. Considering all this, the tasks set before me seemed a little daunting at first. However, I was able to manage the tasks in a timely manner all while being sure to create a schedule and list my priorities for the day.

I am happy to share that I am making progress on the different tasks that I have been assigned and am feeling more accomplished as I near the end of my VISTA term. Especially, considering the fact that my Wellness VISTA role will be merging with the Community Organizer VISTA role. I am excited about what’s to come in my life (medical school!) and the next steps that my organization is taking.

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2016 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
