Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Professional Developments for the Soul

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post I am participating in two CPS led workshop series. The first one is led by Tom Chapel, the Chief Evaluation Officer of the CDC. The public health geek in me jumped to the first opportunity to participate in the professional development workshop. The purpose of this workshop is to create a roadmap and logistical model for our organizations to help us discover the best ways to plan, evaluate, and measure performance.

Picture3

Picture4

Above are ways to create a logistical model: Roadmap according to the CDC and Tom Chapel’s instructions, so if any VISTAs or community organizations want to learn more about the process visit the CDC’s page.

This was a good way for me to start into planning our monitoring and evaluation model.

The next series of workshop is the CPS Community Engaged Research Institute in which community members and thought partners (mostly academic researchers) are working together to learn how to and propose research proposals that focus on the community needs rather than the researcher’s questions.

Community Engaged Research is a collaborative process between the community and the researcher where together they decide what kind of research they will do, how they will ask the questions and the methodology, as well as how to disseminate the materials with the communities concerns in mind. This kind of research allows for a long lasting trusting relationship. Once the research project is done the relationship remains. This differentiates from Traditional Research (clinical research) because in traditional research the relationships end with the study. What had been really interesting about this research institute is learning about all the work that other community members are doing and how organizations work overlap with each other.

However, this has definitely reinforced my desire to pursue a dual MD/MPH degree and helps highlight my interests in community health and advocacy. This is what this year was about to explore my passions and find out what I truly want to work for in the future. So my best advice for members of the community is attend free workshops, free professional development opportunities etc… you can never gain too much knowledge.

About vcahen

Hello all! I have been blogging for a couple years now not really for the sake of the readers but for the sake of writing. I have been writing in diaries since I was a little girl...maybe Matilda influenced me as a child, who knows?... but in recent years I have discovered the art of blogging. While studying abroad I tried to write my blog pretty regularly but with limited wifi access in Ghana that wasn't too successful. I am currently doing a year of service with AmeriCorps VISTA and we are required to write a monthly blog. But instead of writing just for them I have decided to expand my blog writing to write reviews on restaurants throughout the world as well as describe in detail my traveling stories. I hope you enjoy and feel free to leave comments!! Carpe Diem, V

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2016 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
