Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Committee for a Better New Orleans Field Report: Thanks for Everything!

As I enter my last week of VISTA and my last week in New Orleans, I feel as though it is the end of an era. Ending my year-plus service with VISTA (and yes, I’m actually leaving this time) marks the beginning of a new path in my life, especially because I am also leaving New Orleans. It’s a bittersweet excitement leaving a city that has added so much beauty, soul and identity to my life. I have grown so much in the five (plus a little lagniappe) years I have had the ultimate joy of living in this city. I’ll miss the life that reverberates throughout New Orleans. In the past year, I have gone through some of my highest highs and my lowest lows, but New Orleans has always remained a constant: a constant reminder of resiliency, of passion, of hope. I might even maybe miss the morning commute on the streetcar. I’ll miss the energy, the strength and the sunsets. I am excited for this new chapter to be close to my family and friends in the Northeast and hopefully (crossing my fingers) go to nursing school. That being said, I’ll miss the most amazing people in the world that I have met here, that have become a part of my being so strongly. Much love to my New Orleans family.

To Breyonce: You are the light that shines in my life. You have made me a better person and a stronger one also. To Lilly: I’m glad we finally fulfilled our destiny. You are an incredible person who brings joy to everyone around you. To Anya: Those kids are so lucky to have you in their lives. You’re a beautiful person inside and out. To Melissa: Thank you for your kindness, your friendship and your love. I can’t wait to see where your success brings you because I know you’ll be incredible at anything you try. To Tommy: Meeting you at VISTA PSO was meant to be. You fit so seamlessly into my life like you were meant to be there all along and I honestly have no idea how I existed sans your presence. To TheShawDawg: THANK YOU for moving to New Orleans and bringing Fonts. You are an amazing friend and support system. Let’s go to the Nail. To Januzzi: I don’t know how to put into words how highly I think of you. You bring joy and happiness to everyone around you. Your positive energy is absolutely infectious. To Merry: Environmental studies unite. Your passion for the environment and for making everyone smile is amazing. To Beau: MY WONDERFUL BEAU.  I’m so proud of you. Your work with health and justice is awesome. Thank you for always making me laugh. Please do stand-up comedy. To Krishna, Adrian, Neal: Can’t wait to be the nurse to your doctors. You baby geniuses are perfect humans. I’m glad VISTA brought us together. To Chance: You’re great and hilarious and smart and I just think the world of you. To Kayla: I’m so glad you came into our lives and brought a wealth of knowledge and laughter to everything you touch. To MRK, Fonts, Callie: Y’all are a big part of my New Orleans existence, however near or far you are now. Sundays just aren’t the same here without you guys. To all the VISTAs: I hope you continue to fight for the things that cause the proverbial fire in your bellies. Despite any setbacks, I hope you all find fulfillment and happiness in your VISTA positions and beyond.

Additionally, the guide is pretty much DONE! I can’t wait to hold a copy of it in my hands. I think it will be of great benefit to all the residents of New Orleans. I feel accomplished leaving CBNO knowing I have completed something I have worked so hard on for so many months!

And last but not least, here’s an unflattering picture of myself. Sorry.

How you feel when you go to leave New Orleans...

How you feel when you go to leave New Orleans…

One comment on “Committee for a Better New Orleans Field Report: Thanks for Everything!

  1. Jack Styczynski
    November 2, 2015

    I know how the crying feels.

    Now go eat some Doritos, nurse-to-be. 😉

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
