Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

October Field Report for Project Homecoming – Sara Skjerli VISTA

Two months in and it feels like we have been here for a lifetime. In a good way of course! Things have been steadily progressing at Project Homecoming, I visited every firehouse and Police Station in the city, have learned the art of tabling at housing fairs far and wide, and even made my first grand purchase… a new bike!

The Dillard Housing Fair is a community event hosted by Dillard University where organizations far and wide who specialize in anything related to housing come and share information about what they do.

The Dillard Housing Fair is a community event hosted by Dillard University where organizations far and wide who specialize in anything related to housing come and share information about what they do.

My New BikeIt is really fun, and quite handy to have a bike in New Orleans. As long as you are aware and accept the fact that you might get hit by a car or have to ride on the sidewalk, or peddle against the wind it’s a win win situation!

My current focus at Project Homecoming is to find donations for the silent auction we are having at our 3rd Annual Homecoming Affair: Home for the Holidays Gala on December 4th, 2015 at People’s Health New Orleans Jazz Market! While perusing Oretha Castle Haley Blvd last week I stumbled upon the Youth Empowerment Project, a local workforce development program and fellow 501(c)3 non profit, that focuses on bikes! Not only did they donate to the silent auction, they put some awesome baskets on my bike and my roommate purchased a bike! So if you are ever on the market for some new, or used, wheels, check them out!

In addition to riding my bike and getting to explore the city, I have also had the chance to volunteer with another Tulane Community Partner, Friends of Lafitte Greenway. I helped Sydney at the annual Night Out Against Crime neighborhood event! We corralled a bunch of adorable children into playing a game and telling us all they knew about bike safety!

Sydney posing for the camera as we had a moment (literally the only one) of reprieve before being rushed by eager and adorable children!

Sydney posing for the camera as we had a moment (literally the only one) of reprieve before being rushed by eager and adorable children!

That was a great night! And it only got better when I had the chance to snuggle with Rosa! For any of you dog lovers out there, I am sure you understand how challenging it can be to be away from your beloved pet. With my sweet pooch lounging peacefully back in CT, Sydney was gracious enough to introduce us to, and let us love on, her beautiful sweet Pup Rosa!

Rosa heard a second line and some Mardi Gras Indians dancing up the street and was listening intently to the music!

Rosa heard a second line and some Mardi Gras Indians dancing up the street and was listening intently to the music!

All in all it has been a very productive and progressive last couple of months! I am very excited about continuing my work with Project Homecoming, exploring my new home, and enjoying my first Holiday season in New Orleans!

New Orleans

One comment on “October Field Report for Project Homecoming – Sara Skjerli VISTA

  1. Jack Styczynski
    October 30, 2015

    Great bike, Sara! I love the Youth Empowerment Project on OC Haley! My NOLA bicycling tip…avoid the main thoroughfares!

    See you on December 4th!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports and tagged , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
