Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Singing and Swinging My Way into September

growdatyouthfarm-sept2015-2

On a flight from Atlanta! I LOVE TO TRAVEL!

My second month as a VISTA started with lots of entertainment and musical energies, so for this, I am grateful. My old jazz professor at UNO had his album launch at Snug Harbor, and it was great to reconnect with so many familiar sounds and faces. I also had some personal shows peppered across states like Virginia, Texas, and Washington D.C., so I have been enjoying the ability to work, travel,  and maintain my creative and spiritual sanity here in New Orleans.

Meagan Simone Playing live at the 2015 D.C. Yoga Reggae Festival

Meagan Simone Playing live at the 2015 D.C. Yoga Reggae Festival

Since my last post, many new faces have arrived at the farm, making spending eight (8) plus hours on site a lot more enjoyable as youth and Assistant Crew Leaders are beginning to show up for our program year. I have done an exhausting and rewarding job of going to our partner schools and  collecting times and dates for my site to pitch our program to many of the local students, in hopes of recruiting them to join this year. Things have started moving, and they are seemingly,  not going to slow down any time soon! We have been in continuous on-boardings and trainings, meetings, completing tasks, and most recently we just came from our Advanced Leadership training Retreat in Feliciana, Louisiana!

At the Feliciana Retreat Center for our ALP Retreat!

At the Feliciana Retreat Center for our ALP Retreat!

Notes form on boarding !

Notes form on boarding !

It was an insightful experience, and I am forever grateful for the growth that I am witnessing in myself. All while trying to maintain a balance with my required VISTA work, staying true to my self, and keeping creative? Yay for me!!!!! Oh and I forgot to say, I got a flat tire this month and had to spend my whole paycheck!!!!!!!!!!

STOOOPPIIIDDD FLAT TIRE!

STOOOPPIIIDDD FLAT TIRE!

I had an awesome time at our 50th VISTA celebration at the Tulane City Center! It is one of my September highlights! The atmosphere was inviting, our posters looked amazing, and I enjoyed sharing information about my site with guests! Oh, and the food was amazing!!! WE MISS YOU JOHN!!!!!!! I also enjoyed the first potluck of the month, which my roommate and I hosted! We rocked out with great food, records spinning, and the game of Taboo!!!!! Thanks to all the VISTAS who came over!

 

Transplanted chard and kale from the hoop houses! Look at how well they are growing!

Transplanted chard and kale from the hoop houses! Look at how well they are growing!

Food is one of my biggest passions aside from entertainment, and after long days of work, I get to Deming and throw down in the kitchen! I know my roommate is a happy woman!! LOL! I also spend lots of time playing and practicing songs and guitar rifts! I most often wind down and  relax by listening to some of my vinyl collection, and making art with friends in the community! In closing, I am exited by all the changes occurring and am excited about the continued work. I am remembering to always stay positive, no matter what is happening around me! Thanks for reading and looking forward to SPOOKING YOU THIS OCTOBER!!! 🙂

THE THROWDOWN

THE THROWDOWN

My beautiful VISTA family!!!!!!!!! At the artistic Tulane City Center!

My beautiful VISTA family!!!!!!!!! At the artistic Tulane City Center!

When I need a break, I listen to vinyl!

When I need a break, I listen to vinyl!

Making life-sized voodoo dolls for the Saints games with artistic friends

Making life-sized voodoo dolls for the Saints games with artistic friends

At the Brown Foundation Youth School field trip representing my site, Grow Dat Youth Farm!

At the Brown Foundation Youth School field trip representing my site, Grow Dat Youth Farm!

My poster for Grow Dat at the Tulane City Center for our 50th Anniversary!

My poster for Grow Dat at the Tulane City Center for our 50th Anniversary!

About Meagan Simone

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports and tagged , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
