Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

An Incredible August: Emily Schnitt – CBNO

In an exciting turn of events, I am in fact still here at CBNO as a VISTA! It ended up working out that I could stay on at CBNO until November to finish the Citizen’s Guide, which I am really excited about, given the fact that it is so close to being done. Since there was not going to be another VISTA coming on at CBNO, it seemed like a great opportunity to finish the guide and create a really useful document for the citizens of New Orleans. I myself have learned so much just doing the guide and I think the residents of New Orleans will as well.

I was fortunate enough to spend a few weeks in August travelling and spending time with my family. Seeing and experiencing new places always gives me a new perspective and rejuvenates me. I feel so lucky to have had the experiences I had over the course of the past few weeks. I got to experience so many beautiful things in nature, which always affords such a calming feeling. Being outside and experiencing natural beauty is one of my favorite things. I hope to spend more time hiking in the future.

The beautiful Plitvice Lakes in Croatia

The beautiful Plitvice Lakes in Croatia.

Hanging out in nature!

Hanging out in nature!

Overall, I am very happy to be back in New Orleans getting to be a part of VISTA for another few months and getting to see the guide through to completion. I’m so excited to get to hold a copy of the completed guide in my hands! Stay tuned.

One comment on “An Incredible August: Emily Schnitt – CBNO

  1. Jack Styczynski
    September 14, 2015

    Congrats on the extension. Keep up the great work!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
