Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

GROWING LIKE AUGUSTINE GRASS: GROW DAT YOUTH FARM-VISTA MEAGAN S.W.

Group Yoga at PSO

Group Yoga at PSO

Sight Seeing in Downtown Denver

Sight Seeing in Downtown Denver

Rhea, A friend I made at PSO, who is serving at @GreenLeaf Community Garden in Denver!

Rhea, A friend I made at PSO, who is serving at @GreenLeaf Community Garden in Denver!

Our Sunday VISTA potlucks are always memorable!

Our Sunday VISTA potlucks are always memorable!

At my site, helping to sow seeds of Lettuce!

At my site, helping to sow seeds of Lettuce!

August has been a month of continual growth and change for me as a new VISTA! Moving from Baton Rouge seemed to be an easy task, but the Sunday after move-in,  some inconsiderate person decided that they would steal my personal belongings, confiscate my identity, and ultimately try and break me down . I decided that I would not allow such a pity to ruin my first few days here! So I have enjoyed the weather, rain or shine, and am constantly reminding myself, that this is all a part of my GROWTH!

I am overly excited to get involved with my community here in New Orleans! I am also very humbled to know that this process WILL make me a better, stronger, and wiser individual. From the day I moved in, to meeting my roommate, to cooking my first home meal in the dorms, I have been spreading pure and true good energy as far as I possibly can. Our weekly potlucks at Deming have also helped me to ease into this new environment, as we share in laughs, cries, eats, and ideas!
Yoga and Meditation at PSO.

My days have been long, and nights short! PSO (Pre – Service Orientation) WAS AMAZING! I met some of the most diverse, intelligent, and empathetic beings in Colorado. The food was amazing, the energy was right, and my facilitator Jeff made me cry at least three times. Some people are meant to serve, and he is one of them! By the way, the BLUE GROUP was the BEST! During my stay at PSO, I managed to find a local park, I got to sight-see the city, and I even enjoyed some amazing Yoga with fellow VISTAs and some local Coloradans!

I began work at my site this week, and I am pleased to say that my job ROCKS! It is my honor to help Grow Dat Youth Farm to reach new goals in terms of capacity building, community relations, programming,  and educational outreach! I was able tour the entire farm, which is roughly seven (7) acres, filled with wild animals, plants, herbs, spices, fruits, and vegetables. The people and the environment alone make me feel at home and at peace. The trees are greener, the vegetation is lush, the scenery is to love, and the climate is  similar to  Jamaica, the land I Love! On Tuesday, after finishing my tasks in both the kitchen and office, I was able to help a fellow crew leader sow three different types of organic lettuces, which we will be selling in our upcoming fall markets!

I could go on and on about the joy I have, knowing that this is my destiny and that it only gets better from here, but I guess you will have to keep reading! Until next BLOG,

Magically,

Meagan

About Meagan Simone

2 comments on “GROWING LIKE AUGUSTINE GRASS: GROW DAT YOUTH FARM-VISTA MEAGAN S.W.

  1. Jack Styczynski
    August 24, 2015

    Glad the potlucks are a hit!

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
