Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

My very first steps as a Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA Fellow

The day has finally arrived when I will be serving as an AmeriCorps VISTA in New Orleans, a city that helped me grow so much in my four years as an undergraduate. Going from being a Tulane student to being a part of the work force is going to be a transition.

I have been thinking about how this year of service will help me grow personally and professionally. I will gain a lot from working with the Center for Restorative Approaches. Being a part of the CRA, I am excited to learn not only how to work professionally in a non-profit, but also learn about New Orleans from a different perspective.

A few weeks ago, I participated in the CRA’s summer institute where the facilitator trained local teachers and administrators about the purpose of restorative approaches and how to facilitate their own restorative circles. This furthered my excitement for the year that lies ahead. Witnessing community stockholders ignited my enthusiasm and helped me see that I am serving in a community that strives to improve the quality of life surrounding them.

This past week, August 3rd to August 6th, I attended my Pre-Service Orientation in Atlanta, Georgia. I met AmeriCorps VISTA members that will be serving all over the United States. From PSO, I learned VISTAs share one purpose to reduce and eventually eliminate poverty. This week has given me a new perspective on the year that lies ahead of me.

I hope to use what I learn from the CRA staff and the community to improve my communication skills and my comprehension of restorative approaches. Also, I am hoping to learn the benefits restorative approaches can create. I am beyond excited for this year! Following is a photo demonstrating the commitment staff have to introducing restorative circles to their schools by participating in trainings.

School staff during a restorative circle training

School staff during a restorative circle training

About vcahen

Hello all! I have been blogging for a couple years now not really for the sake of the readers but for the sake of writing. I have been writing in diaries since I was a little girl...maybe Matilda influenced me as a child, who knows?... but in recent years I have discovered the art of blogging. While studying abroad I tried to write my blog pretty regularly but with limited wifi access in Ghana that wasn't too successful. I am currently doing a year of service with AmeriCorps VISTA and we are required to write a monthly blog. But instead of writing just for them I have decided to expand my blog writing to write reviews on restaurants throughout the world as well as describe in detail my traveling stories. I hope you enjoy and feel free to leave comments!! Carpe Diem, V

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
