Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Committee for a Better New Orleans

As I reflect on how fast this past year went I realize how much I have learned, grown and evolved as a person. It is pretty mind-boggling to me how fast a year went. In so many ways, PSO in Colorado seems like yesterday. I can still remember how simultaneously scared and excited I was to start my VISTA position. This is slated to be my last blog post. Lately I’ve been going back and forth between staying in New Orleans for another few months or leaving to go back to Boston. At the beginning of this year, I thought another year in New Orleans would be enough. Now I feel like it’s not. I feel like I need more time to do all the things I want to do.

This city.. Why is it so hard to leave you?

This city.. Why is it so hard to leave you?

I also feel like I have put so much work and effort into the Citizen’s Guide that I would love to see it through to completion. Since there won’t be a new VISTA coming in August, I have been considering staying on in some capacity to finish my guide. My friend even suggested making the Citizens Guide an iPhone/Android application, which I think would be awesome. I would love to see the final, finished product as something I worked hard on, something I’m proud of. There are still many factors to consider between staying or going back to Boston, but the guide is definitely one.

Could there be an app for that?

Could there be an app for that?

All in all, I don’t think I could have asked for a better support system this year in New Orleans. It has been an amazing and enriching experience in which I have grown in ways I did not know I could. I feel so proud to have been part of such a powerful team of Tulane VISTAs. I can’t wait to see where the world takes all of us!

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
