Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Live in New Orleans once, leave before she….

Baz Lurhmann’s Sunscreen song:

“Live in New York City once, leave before it makes you hard. Live in Northern California once, but leave before it makes you soft.”

I’ll be honest that I don’t know much about NYC, but growing up in NorCal I wondered what the hell Bazzie was talking about.  But now living in NOLA I realize he had some solid thoughts.  NorCal was hardly soft with 100 degree summer days and trucks which flew confederate flags but there is something being raised in NorCal that can have you soft. Soft is of course an incomplete word but coming to NOLA I lost some things that I am now happy to be without.

Live in New Orleans once, but leave before she makes you…. Jaded? Addicted?  I won’t take a stab but would love to see some ideas in the comments from folks.

I am slightly less idealistic, definitely.  And I am alright with it mostly because Mama Nola took that idealism and replaced it with processes and methodology and experience.  I am more capable even if my head is no longer high among the redwood clouds.  And thats what our people, not solely New Orleans folks, but all modern people need is real strategies to turn ideas into greatness and hopes into change.  Or maybe that’s just a part I would like to play.  Other people have way better ideas than me! and I love helping them.

I have served in AmeriCorps for two years.  I have been told this was national service and it was honorable and I believe that now and am proud to have served in this alternative way.  Not that I affirm this nation but it is the country I live in and her people are my neighbors.  I am glad for the lessons I have learned and the skills I have been taught.  I will stay a bit longer, whatever Mr. Luhrman might say about it be damned.

Sunset

NOLA has the best sunsets

One comment on “Live in New Orleans once, leave before she….

  1. Jack Styczynski
    July 8, 2015

    The best word I can think of for your request would be “lazy.” I hate to say anything negative about NOLA, but this town could just as easily be nicknamed “The Big Lazy.”

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
