Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

The Month of May

Hey There!

Thanks for coming back to read more about my VISTA year! I want to take a second to say thank you to everyone who made my birthday at the end of April, such a wonderful day. I felt so loved, and am so grateful for everyone in my life.

I organized an event at The Shamrock for Project Homecoming on May 1st. The night was such a success and we raised a lot of funds! Thanks to the Shamrock for hosting us, and for everyone that came!

Here’s Brea and I hanging out on stage before the event:

DSC_0687

GiveNOLA Day was also this month- it was on Tuesday, May 5th. As my last major project at Project Homecoming, I cannot believe that the day has come and gone. It was such a success! We had a crawfish boil at The Rusty Nail to celebrate the day and raised over $40,000! We made #15 in the amount raised and #19 for the number of donors, out of over 550 organizations!! Thanks to everyone who donated and supported us, especially those who supported me personally in the craziness during the weeks leading up to GND.

DSC_0834

I tabled the NVOAD (National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster) Conference at the Sheraton downtown as well. I had an absolutely wonderful time at the conference, where Project Homecoming was the only local organization. I made so many connections and spoke with a few community members who lived in neighborhoods where some of our homes have been built. It is great hearing their stories and views on how their neighborhoods are finally coming back. I also ran into my friend Tommy who was volunteering at the conference.

11295663_10155593098365051_7907531182156408527_n

Memorial Day Weekend was also tons of fun. On Memorial Day, I went to the WWII Museum with fellow VISTA, Jack, which was a great time. I went to the beach in Waveland and also to the #AVP2015 with WSM Dan! The AVP New Orleans Open was really great to watch. I saw Olympic medalists Dahlhauser and Rosenthal lose 2 sets to Casey Patterson and Jake Gibb, which I definitely did not anticipate happening. I spent a lot of time with my family this weekend as well.

There were so many great learning experiences in May, both personally and professionally. What I learned from organizing the events for ProHo was absolutely invaluable. As stressful as this month was, it was definitely one for the books.

Until next time,

~Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
