Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

April Field Report: Orleans Public Education Network

IMG_2545

Spring in Toronto actually means winter

This month was my favorite so far this year for several reasons. One, the parents in our PLTI program have graduated in a beautiful ceremony that my writing can’t bring justice to.

PLTI graduation

PLTI graduation ceremony at City Hall, tears and smiles

Two, the cold has finally left for good and I tend to be much happier in warm weather.  In fact, this is one of the main reasons I fled the northeast so eagerly for New Orleans. From time to time I do get homesick, so this month I took a vacation to visit my friends in Toronto and travel with my family. My mother met me in Toronto, and after we visited my grandmother’s, we drove the 9-hour length to Princeton, where we picked up the rest of our family to fly out to Las Vegas. My under-agedness saved us a lot of trouble (and money probably). We saw cirque du soleil’s O show, visited Madame Tussaud’s wax museum, and hiked the grand canyon, all of which were phenomenal experiences.

 My brief time at home confirmed something I refused to believe when I was younger. John Ed Pearce once said, “Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to”. Now that I’ve lived away from home for several years, I have found that this is true. This year as a VISTA has shown me that it really isn’t easy making a living even just for myself, let alone provide for 4 children, cook them healthy meals every day, find them quality education, drive them to extracurricular programs,  and on top of all that, ensure their mental and physical health along the way. For all these things that I had the fortune of growing up with, I thank my family. IMG_3337

If there are two things my VISTA year has given me, they are gratification and motivation. I have a deeper appreciation for the warm and loving home my family provided me, as well as an increased sense of responsibility to spread that love. My vacation this month helped rejuvenate my work ethic and boost morale. With less than three months left to go, I’m proud to say that I’ve made the most of this year and continue to do the best I can for OPEN.

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
