Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

The Time for Fun

Hey All!

Thanks for coming back to hear about my VISTA year. With festival season upon us, this month has been one of the greatest yet! I kicked the month off with Food Fest with fellow VISTAS, Emily, Michael, and Merry. We met up with a few of our other friends too. Food Fest was a great experience- I had these awesome eggplant portobello tamales over a bed of cheese grits, and some Bananas Foster Bread Pudding from Cafe Reconcile which was by far the best bread pudding I’ve had in New Orleans!

Food Fest of course gave me all of the fuel I needed to run the Crescent City Classic 10K the following weekend! I asked almost everyone I know to run it with me, and the only person crazy enough to agree was my friend Dan.

Dan and I at the Post 10K celebration at City Park:

FullSizeRender (1)

The Classic is definitely something I encourage everyone in NOLA to do (at least) once! I’ve never seen a race where people who live on the route camp out outside and hand out (aside from water) doughnuts, oranges, candy, and more to the runners and encourage them with kind words, cheers, and live music! It was great celebrating the completion of the race at City Park with all of the runners, too! Big shout out to Dan for keeping me motivated throughout the race to keep up with him.

I also went to French Quarter Fest the following weekend, which was such a great experience as well. It’s so fun to walk around my neighborhood while different stages are set up and listen to music and hang out with the entire city!

I’ve consistently been going to Wednesdays at the Square with coworkers after work on Wednesdays. Here’s Dan, Sam, and I watching Kermit Ruffins the other week! We’ve also gone to see Flowtribe this past week and a few others perform as well:

FullSizeRender

Spring time in New Orleans really is the best time of year.

~Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
