Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

A Little Bit of a Lot

Hey All!

Thanks for coming back to read about what I’ve been up to at Project Homecoming! One of the things that I love about working in the office is the versatility of my role. I talk to volunteers, I work on recruitment, fundraising, marketing, and more. Sometimes I even make an appearance on site! This month we had an awesome group of volunteers from Humana. I got to leave the office and make my way to our work-site on Tennessee to give them an orientation. They were a really fun group to talk to and they were so friendly and helpful. I can’t wait to work with them again!

humana group

Going to the site on Tennessee definitely felt like a blast from the past. During my first week at Project Homecoming I went on the Katrina Restoration Tour with a volunteer group. I recognized the area below from the tour. I even saw a line of homes that Brad Pitt’s Make it Right Foundation built:

brad pit

Spring is upon us and there are few things more beautiful than Tulane’s uptown campus during this time of year. I recently made a quick trip to my Alma Mater. As I walked through campus, I passed the most beautiful thing that reminded me of the good ol’ days of Mardi Gras-The Bead Tree:

tulane tree

That’s all for now!

Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
