Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Keeping Perspective

With another month coming to an end, there is so much that I could update you with right now: the high of Mardi Gras happiness, the joy of being surrounded by friends and family for such a fun-filled week, the low of post-Mardi Gras blues, the great time that I had at the all-staff retreat this month, the pride that I had presenting to the Project Homecoming family about new fundraising strategies for GiveNOLA Day, and more.

Usually I go into the major milestones in the month, but instead, I’ll focus on the important things that have been reinforced for me, personally and professionally. I hope you’ll keep these in mind, too.

  1. Don’t let small misfortunes that arise diminish the value of all of the great things in your life; health, love, family, and friends. Just when life is panning out better than you ever thought it would, Lady Luck may leave your side for a moment or two, and misfortune will take the opportunity to strike. That’s just how life works. Remember to keep things in perspective- just because something unfortunate happens or something doesn’t go as planned, that doesn’t mean that you’re doomed and that your life is a “series of unfortunate events.” It’s easy to get stuck in a cycle of negativity and sadness, so try to remember all of the great things you’ve done and achieved in your life. Think about the bright future that is ahead of you, and you’ll soon be able to see the misfortune that arose as an inconvenience rather than a catastrophe.
  2.  When you think that you stand alone, think again. There is always someone who is willing to listen to you, whether you need support in your work or personal life, or both. The most important thing you need to do is ASK.
  3. Just when you think you know someone, they will surprise you in the BEST of ways. When you spend enough time with someone and think you know them well, I guarantee that you don’t. This one is a shoutout to some of my coworkers that showed so much enthusiasm and interest in helping me kickoff my fundraising campaign for GiveNOLA. I was so overwhelmed (in the best of ways) by their genuine will to join me and their great ideas during the all-staff meeting.

With the insanity that was this month, it seems to be ending at a high-point. This week I was able to go to the Pelicans game against the Raptors, where we were victorious. There was great company, music, and a great deal of dancing (maybe too much), and lots of laughs!

Thanks for stopping by!

Krishna

 

Just some of the Great Company!

Just some of the Great Company!

My friend Michael Januzzi

My friend Michael Januzzi

YES.. A WIN!

YES.. A WIN!

 

One comment on “Keeping Perspective

  1. Jack Styczynski
    March 1, 2015

    Don’t forget Pelicans pizza…lol!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
