Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

A Colorful New Year – Flowering through Frustration

A shot from the eerie, powerful Exhibit Be

A shot from the eerie, powerful Exhibit Be, which I visited last month.

It has been an exciting start to 2015, both professionally and personally.

At the Cowen Institute so far:

  • We have 3 new awesome interns carrying out research projects and operations tasks to help our staff and the whole floor.
  • I am now the supervisor of our two in-office Earn and Learn apprentices, Krisie and Sean. The new responsibility is exciting but has also brought a whole new set of challenges.
  • We’ve undergone our long-anticipated restructuring, consolidating policy and research into one Policy Department.
  • We’ve said goodbye to both members of our Policy team, Matt Segraves and Jonah Evans, as well as our Director of Research, Debra Vaughan.
  • Brought on a new temp, Pete Johnson, who will help with administrative support.
  • Teased with a rebranding and new website, and ultimately hit the brakes on those plans.
I cannot wait to say goodbye to this homepage.

I cannot wait to say goodbye to this homepage.

In my personal life, I took a roadtrip to Orlando with some friends, have been a little less strict about my veganism (but hey, it was a strong 4 months), and have been to all sorts of great events around the city, from NBA games to fundraisers to good ol’ fashioned Mardi Gras fun.

Fellow VISTA friends Jack and Olivia and me pre-gala for Project Homecoming. Good work Krishna!

Fellow VISTA friends Jack and Olivia and me pre-gala for Project Homecoming. Good work Krishna!

There have been many reasons to celebrate my life, my job, my friends, and there are plenty of opportunities to be thankful for all that I have experienced. It is with this lens of gratitude that I try to view my aggravating obstacles at work. For the second time in my term, I have been a few mere steps away from completing a new website for my organization, and for the second time a decision was made that was far out of my hands, and the work has to be delayed. Losing some of my favorite colleagues was unexpected and unwelcome as well. We are a small organization in a volatile environment, but I still never anticipated this amount of change and turnover at Cowen Institute. The best I can do is treat hardships or roadblocks in my productivity as learning experiences, keep my head down and keep doing the work that is in my control. I have far more responsibility than when I started my term, but I also have more know-how and resources at my disposal to make sure things get done. While there are some gray nasty parts of my work environment behind me, the future is still up in the air.. which leads me to this tried and true maxim:

^ It's true.

^ It’s true.

As I have likely ended most of my blogs here, I will say that there is lots to do ahead of me, and I remain optimistic! When things get crazy and I’m busy, I try to take a deep breath and just keep on smiling.

Grinning with two of my absolute favorite women- and people that I know.

Grinning with two of my absolute favorite women- and people that I know.

One comment on “A Colorful New Year – Flowering through Frustration

  1. Jack Styczynski
    February 11, 2015

    Look at all that VISTA love!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
