Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Skills & Thrills – Alexandra Ehrhardt

On a brisk February day, this VISTA began a new journey in the new year. Already a month into the game, this year has been a fantastic one – no denial of that. So far the list of 2015 is as follows:

  • Project Homecoming gala
  • Rock n’ Roll half marathon
  • New hours at APEX Youth Center
  • Offer to join a fellowship
  • Peace Corps interview
  • Feed the Children + Payton’s Play it Forward Foundation giveaway
  • New interns/service learners

Add a few more things and plus all a bunch of new friends, new experiences, and great times – All of this is wonderful.

This photo was required for my blog post - according to Jack.

This photo was required for my blog post according to Jack. Project Homecoming gala – Jan. 2015

I cannot thank everyone enough for all of the support that I have gathered throughout this entire year.

Throughout these new experiences, I have begun a journey through a new phase of thoughtfulness. The resolution of giving more and feeling more gratitude is still overwhelming. That process is continuing, and this marks the longest resolution I have ever kept. I’m glad that this is the one. However, there is something else that I must have more of a presence in my life.

Interviewers often ask their candidates: “What skills or attributes can you bring to the table? to our organization/our business?”

So, reader, what exactly constitutes as a skill? Or rather, in the words of someone who was looking out for my best interest: beyond “soft” skills, what are “hard” skills that you bring the table?

Beyond the hours of critical thinking, this person made a very good and important point. While I am having thrills, accomplishing things in all that I do, I am often left without time to ponder: what skills am I taking away from this that I can offer into my next step? Is there anything that sets me apart?

AmeriCorps provides many skills that are applicable in many situations. I view myself as a generalist, reader. I am someone interested in many things who is not necessarily trying to aim for expertise in any particular field. While others many find this to be a fault or worrisome, I find it to be liberating and beneficial. I take jack-of-all-trades over expert any time, unless I suppose my life depended on it. In the case of medical conditions – get me the expert. However, to question myself and my work, how applicable are the skills this AmeriCorps position has provided me? What really sets me apart?

I was posed this question just the day before this blog post. I still think about the question today. However, a situation occurred that really negated any bad feelings or concerns I had concerning my skill set.

Today the International Camping Fellowship brought a group through APEX Youth Center. They were a wonderful group of individuals from all over the world – from China to Russia to South Africa. It was a wonderful mix of people, and everyone was excited to visit the center. After I gave them my raison d’être encompassing APEX and my own personal journey, I was met with questions about how I went about my work at the center. One man in particular, Father Mark, asked me about my skills.

Reader, I really struggled. I mentioned some basic things in passing, but most of what I had done for the center came from passion for my work. I credited a lot to my analytically-driven nature, and this was met with some nods and “mhm”‘s. I figured this was enough to answer the questions, but I am left wondering myself: what kind of potential does each person hold and what skills does each person have?

I guess I know what I will be writing for next month. 🙂

A "Thank You!" Gift from the Russian group!

A “Thank You!” Gift from the Russian group!

One comment on “Skills & Thrills – Alexandra Ehrhardt

  1. Jack Styczynski
    February 5, 2015

    Boogie down, my friend!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
