Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Whoa!!! We’re Halfway There!

Hey All!

Thanks for coming back to read more about my VISTA year. The end of January marks the halfway mark of my VISTA term, and it was by far the busiest month yet!

Tabling NOLA for Life at Sampson Park!

Tabling NOLA for Life at Sampson Park!

On January 10, Mayor Landrieu held a NOLA for Life day at Sampson Playground in New Orleans, and Project Homecoming was asked by the Mayor’s office to help coordinate and manage the volunteers for that day. The day was a great success, and I tabled at the event.

ProHo at NOLA for Life

ProHo at NOLA for Life

I met the man who has the most Domino’s Pizza franchises in the Gulf Coast area. I also got to meet iHeartRadio radio talk show host Wild Wayne; he was really interested in the work that we do at Project Homecoming and our annual gala.

Me and Wild Wayne!

Me and Wild Wayne!

Side note: That Monday, he gave me and my coworker, Hunter, a shoutout on Q93 (93.3 FM) which was really cool!

This brings me to the 2nd Annual Homecoming Affair: A Decade of Difference gala that was held at the First NBC Bank on Baronne St. on January 24, 2015. I worked the event but had a great time as well! Most of my VISTA friends were able to attend, which I sincerely appreciated. It felt wonderful for my friends to see the fruits of my labor for the last 6 months and have a lot of fun as well. The Brass-A-Holics did an awesome job, the photobooth was fun and silly, the food was great, and overall it was such a successful evening.

Thanks to everyone who came out that night and supported us!

~Krishna

Me and Beau right after the last dance of the night!

Me and Beau right after the last dance of the night!

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
