Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

The Happiest Season

Hey All!

Thanks for coming back to hear more about my VISTA year. December was a great month at Project Homecoming. We worked a lot on end of year fundraising, and gearing up for our gala which is on January 24th at the First NBC Bank on Baronne St. You can buy tickets to the event here: http://www.projecthomecoming.net/tickets 

Project Homecoming also participated in the 3rd Gingerbread House Building Competition fundraiser along with Build Now, Project Home Again, and Habitat for Humanity. The competition was held at the New Orleans Healing Center, which is such a cool space- I encourage everyone to check it out if you haven’t already. There was food, live music, laughs, and a ton of sugar. If you know anything about me, it’s that “artistic” would probably be one of the last words to describe me. Although Team ProHo-Ho didn’t place, I think we did a pretty great job!

Here's Team ProHo-Ho's gingerbread house!team

The Project Homecoming holiday party was a night to remember. The food was delicious and it was a very fun evening. Instead of Secret Santa, we all participated in a white elephant gift exchange. Initially, I got a belt sander. But since I work for a construction non-profit, naturally, it was stolen from me so I got to pick another gift. Here’s a screenshot of an Instagram (follow us!!) of some of the other white elephant gifts people got, which ranged from a luggage bag, to a stuffed animal horse, and more!

gift exchange

This past month I also spent two weeks back in one of my favorite places- my home, New York. I surprised my family and friends who were all under the impression that I was spending the holidays in New Orleans. I’ve never been able to do something like this, and my friends and family were so genuinely surprised. I couldn’t have pulled it off without my dad’s help. Here’s a picture of me and my dad right after he picked me up, before I surprised my mom:

dad

I am so excited for what 2015 has in store!!! I hope your holidays were filled with love and joy.

Keep Reading!

Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
