Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Give & Gratitude – Alexandra Ehrhardt

Well, there you go, reader. My two new resolutions for the year.

I don’t want to do anything fancy. I don’t want to do anything extravagant. Rather, I have five million resolutions running in my head all the time, but I think the two most important ones are to give more and to be overwhelmed with gratitude more times over than ever before. Here are some cliche and classic resolutions for your fancy though. Where is the creativity anymore? I feel like I should submit an article to some random internet news site with 35 ridiculously possible new year resolutions like hamster farming or creating an alpaca rodeo club.

A twist towards the serious though:

I love this one movie, reader, titled About Time. If you haven’t watched this movie, I highly recommend that you do. It is a good story with a little bit of everything: romance, life lessons, & adventure. It also has a bunch of fantastic actors, with Domhnall Gleeson being my absolute favorite adored character and actor. My entire family loves it, too, and I like that fact: my entire family and me get to bond through movies.

Guh.. All of the feels. ❤

Among witty lines, cute dialogue, and beautiful scenes and scenarios, the movie’s enchantment really lies in the message behind it all: even if you had a chance to live each day over and over again, you should take every day for what it brings and enjoy it for all that is worth. I love that. I love the constant reminder that it brings me. I also just really, REALLY love movies.

I had a great holiday; I had a great break. I have many of the same goals from 2014, just different perspectives on them all. Instead of making new goals and resolutions, I want to break down the sense of hesitance and reluctance I have towards accomplishing all that I am set out to do. That’s a resolution I think is worth sharing. Why hesitate? Why wait?

This new year does bring new feelings towards being a VISTA, however. My one year is getting close to the half-way point and closer to an end. Truthfully, reader, I’m ready to do more. I am ready to go above and beyond once again. No more downtrodden feelings. They aren’t allowed.

There are only many days in a new year

Something tells me I’m going to have to remind myself of the vigor and robustness that prompted me to write this point, but that’s okay. I don’t care. 🙂

Until next time

2 comments on “Give & Gratitude – Alexandra Ehrhardt

  1. Pingback: New Orleans VISTA Influences – Alexandra Ehrhardt | Tulane VISTA Blog

  2. Pingback: New Year, New Institute | Tulane VISTA Blog

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2015 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
