Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Always Thankful

After spending an amazing Thanksgiving break with my family, I am constantly reminded of all the things I have to be thankful for this year. Starting with my parents, I am extremely thankful for how they are able to provide for me and my brother. They have been especially supportive of my desire to work as an AmeriCorps VISTA. I also found out earlier this month that they will be moving from Beijing, China to San Diego, Cali this Christmas where my brother will be joining them and attending school there. Therefore, starting January, I will officially be moving into Deming! Woot!

photo

As my year as a VISTA progresses, I’m starting to pick up some of the professionalism that I will need in the future to be successful in a working environment. From something as simple as sending an email to having a lunch meeting with potential clients or donors, I am beginning to understand the work and attention to detail I must give when engaging with other professionals. When I was still in college, I didn’t really appreciate the professional mannerisms that are needed when working in an office environment. I hope I can continue to learn from working at Cafe Reconcile and apply these skills and lessons to my future career.

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
