Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Giving Thanks to This Year

First of all, thanks for sticking with my blog posts this far! It is so difficult to grasp the idea that I am 1/3 of the way done with my VISTA year, that I’ve been with Project Homecoming for four months, and that the holiday season is upon us. In spirit of this, I’d like to reflect on these past few months. I have made incredible new friendships, fostered old ones, and worked on bettering myself on professional and personal fronts. I truly have to Give Thanks to this VISTA year for this.

IMG_8972

I am so grateful to have such a happy and wonderful work environment, meaningful work to do, and coworkers who always keep me laughing. This last month, I’ve gotten so much more insight on what Project Homecoming does on all fronts to combat poverty and rebuild neighborhoods. With all of the different avenues that can be taken to help strengthen communities, I must say that Project Homecoming strives to utilize all of them. With the workforce development crew employing locals, with mandatory homebuyer training and financial literacy classes, PH rebuilds communities on a socioeconomic level as well.

Recently, I’ve really gotten to see the camaraderie and fellowship between everyone that works here. A few of the staff here went through some personal tribulations this month, and it truly was beautiful seeing people come together to help one another. Even on a day to day basis, this camaraderie exists. I am so glad to have such a caring family here–it really is a home away from home for me.

As for the VISTAs I have met, I sincerely could not imagine this year without them–they are some of the most selfless, brilliant, motivated, and absolutely hilarious people I know.

Be sure to remember all of the people in your life who love and support you, this season and always.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
