Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

November Field Report: Rosa Keller Community Center

Another month has gone by and I can’t believe its already almost Thanksgiving!! Now that the weather is cooling off, the community center has become the coziest hub of people and warmth and activity. It’s been a busy month, and I’m looking forward to relaxing at home in Georgia over the break. 

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Feels like fall in Broadmoor!

Recently I’ve been interviewing people to teach a basic computer skills program I’m starting in January, which has been an experience in itself. I have a lot of experience being interviewed, but being the interviewer on the other side of the table is definitely new to me. Knowing the right questions to ask in order to get enough information to make a good decision is tricky, and there’s definitely a learning curve. Fortunately I was able to find two wonderful people who I think will be great teaching this program and another program I’m hoping to implement in the spring, so mission accomplished!

I finally finished and compiled my employment resource guide for community members and have put out copies at the community center, the library, and the Wilson Charter School. Our hope is that this guide will serve as a directory of sorts for adults and youth in search of job programs and trainings in addition to providing help with resumes and cover letters. It also includes alternative sources for job postings and a comprehensive list of adult education programs. I’m really pleased with how it turned out, and am hopeful it will be put to good use in the community. 

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
