Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: CBNO—Emmy Schnitt

This month has been a good one at CBNO! I feel like I am finally beginning to truly understand my role within the organization. I have begun to expand my role in the Neighborhood Participation Project (NPP), which provides a forum for citizens to express concerns about zoning changes in their neighborhoods. Through the NPP, CBNO is looking to increase transparency in government decisions and allow citizens to be an integral part of this process. I also got to do some GIS mapping of the Claiborne Corridor that will ultimately end up as a map of flooding in that area.

Through our VISTA Friday meetings, I have been really inspired to look into doing an Annual Fund Campaign, as explained by Nora from The Funding Seed. Nora explains things in a way that makes them seem so much more manageable. A week ago, if you had said “Hey Emmy, I want you to explain to me what an Annual Fund Campaign is,” I probably would have been extremely confused. After Nora’s talk, I feel like I get it. Her worksheets and ways of stating certain things make campaigns and grant writing a lot less intimidating. On another note, I am so SO excited to be teaching a dance class at a local community center!

This may come as a surprise to those who know me but I really like GIS.

This may come as a surprise to those who know me but I really like GIS.

I feel like I am learning a ton and truly making progress toward my professional goals, as well as growing into a more compassionate human being. In thinking more about my career going forward, I know I want to help people. I do not want to be a bystander, ignoring the things that are right before me just because the task of ameliorating these things is too daunting. There’s a lot to be done on this Earth, domestically and internationally. I have dreams of grandeur of somehow finding the panacea that cures all these woes. I feel like that girl from Mean Girls; you know the one:

My feelings about wanting to save the world.

My feelings about wanting to save the world.

All jokes aside, this has something I have been struggling with for a while. How can one person make a tangible difference? I know it’s possible. How can I have a meaningful impact on the world around me?  Yes, there is a lot to be done, but if we all sit back and let it intimidate us then where does that leave things? Maybe I was born with this passion, or maybe it’s Maybelline, but I intend to strive toward that in my future career path. I’ll write back in a month to let y’all know if I found any of these answers! Happy (almost) Halloween!!

Information

This entry was posted on October 28, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
