Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: CBNO- Emmy Schnitt

Here it is–a new year, a new job, and not to mention a new name! I adopted a new nickname at PSO because there are always so many people named Emily. I figured its fitting for a new chapter of my life. This month has been a blast and a truly enriching experience for me. After attending VISTA orientation in Colorado, I came back to New Orleans with a new invigoration to make a change. I have always felt compelled to lend a hand however I could. At the age of nine, following the events of September 11, I coordinated and held a bake sale for the families of those lost on that day.  I have carried that passion with me throughout my life, and it only gets stronger as I begin to comprehend the world around me. This year has been one of tremendous change for me, from graduating college, to relinquishing my vegetarianism for barbecue and fried chicken, to growing half an inch (and reaching 5’0″!) and of course to starting my AmeriCorps VISTA position at Committee for a Better New Orleans.

Me discovering a whole new world in New Orleans via Olaf/Disney.

Me discovering a whole new world in New Orleans via Olaf/Disney.

Overall, I am so grateful for this opportunity. I feel as though I am learning so much at CBNO, from the ins and outs of city government, to the importance of civic engagement. I am also incredibly happy to be part of the Tulane VISTA team because:

  • The great team at the Tulane Center for Public Service provides a very helpful source of support.
  • Through the Friday meetings, from grant writing workshops to professional development training, we have access to a wealth of resources.
  • The other VISTAs provide laughter and a great source of understanding about the ins and outs of VISTA life.
  • The opportunities provided to volunteer with the different VISTA sites.
  • The feeling of community.
VISTAs volunteering for YRNO!

VISTAs volunteering for YRNO!

That’s all for now! Look for another blog post coming your way next month!

 

One comment on “Field Report: CBNO- Emmy Schnitt

  1. Jack Styczynski
    September 30, 2014

    Let’s hear it for barbecue and fried chicken! Before you know it, you’ll be 6’0″! 😉

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
