Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Building the Foundation

Hi! I’m Krishna and I’m a Tulane VISTA originally from New York. After spending the last few years living Uptown and studying cell and molecular biology at Tulane, I am more than excited to be done with undergrad and experience an entirely different side of New Orleans. This year, I’ll be working for Project Homecoming, Inc., a rebuilding organization out in Gentilly.

IMG_8872

My first month has been better than I had ever imagined. I still remember my first day where my supervisor, Kelly (you’ll be hearing a lot about her throughout the year), met me at our volunteer housing facility, The Village, and showed me where our week-long volunteers stay. We then drove to the office (pictured above) and she introduced me to everyone there, which was so kind of her. My desk and computer were already set up for me when I got there; everyone really made me feel right at home from my first day.

IMG_8972

After getting settled, Kelly gave me a tour of the houses that we were working on and the stories of the homeowners. I even met one of the homeowners of an owner-occupied renovation that PH is doing. It gave me such a stronger sense of what Project Homecoming was about.

Project Homecoming is a faith-based organization that came about through the Presbytery of Southern Louisiana and the Presbyterian Disaster Assistance (PDA) after Hurricane Katrina in 2007. In 2011, we became our own 501(c)3 in order to continue the rebuilding efforts in New Orleans because it was evident that there was much more to be done. Project Homecoming does both owner-occupied renovations as well as rebuilds. With the support of the volunteers, the community, and sponsors, PH has grown to rebuild over 230 homes with target areas in Gentilly and the Ninth Ward.

This year, I am a part of PH’s PR/Marketing Team and will be focusing on secular and college-based volunteer recruitment, volunteer coordination, and sponsorship for our 2nd Annual Gala, Our Homecoming Affair: A Decade of Difference. 

Can’t wait to give you more updates about how things are going!

-Krishna

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
