Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

New Orleans Fruit Tree Project – Cait Donohue

Hi! My name is Cait Donohue and I was born and raised in quiet Concord, New Hampshire. You probably know NH for its popular state motto- “Live Free or Die”. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

New Hampshire Welcome Sign

After growing up in a small town, I was eager to move to a more vibrant city, as well as explore a different part of the country. After high school, I moved to New Orleans to attend Tulane University. During my time at Tulane, I had the opportunity to study Ecology and Evolutionary Biology. At my graduation dinner, my family and I discussed how much the city had progressed from my freshman year in 2006 to my senior year in 2010.  I felt inspired and very lucky to see and experience first hand the resilience and rebirth of this city and of the people that call New Orleans home. During my four years at Tulane I fell in love with New Orleans and wanted to continue being a part of the community. After I graduated, I accepted an AmeriCorps position as an assistant kindergarten teacher at Langston Hughes Academy. I learned a lot from this year with AmeriCorps and it solidified my dedication to serve another year.  I was able to bring this knowledge back home and apply it as a Corps Member with City Year New Hampshire. I am now starting my third year with a wealth of experience and expertise.

318208_871070395809_80616723_n-1

Kindergarten Field Trip to Audubon Zoo

Unlike my first two AmeriCorps years, my third year will not be spent in an elementary school classroom. This year I am very excited to be working with the New Orleans Fruit Tree Project, a non-profit that collects and redistributes excess fruit grown in the greater New Orleans area.

logo2 (2)

NOFTP Logo

New Orleans hosts a large selection of citrus trees from kumquats to satsumas. Each citrus season many tree owners have more fruit than they know what to do with or don’t have the time to harvest all of it. By the end of citrus season, thousands of pounds of citrus can go to waste, while thousands of New Orleanians don’t have easy access to fresh fruit. Our solution to this problem is simple:  fruit tree owners whose fruit would otherwise go to waste can register their trees on our website. Once the fruit is ready, we organize volunteers to harvest the fruit and then donate it to local organizations that feed the hungry. Since starting in January 2011, the New Orleans Fruit Tree Project has collected almost 25,000 pounds of citrus.

Visit our website for ways to get involved with the New Orleans Fruit Tree Project!

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2014 by in NOLA Fruit Tree Project, Uncategorized.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
