Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

My Last Week of Tulane VISTA–Natalie Wiggins

My last week as a Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA!! Ahhh!! It’s so hard for me to believe that I’ve been in New Orleans for an entire year! Where did the time go? I’ve experienced some of the best and worst times here. I’m extremely happy that I was given the opportunity to come to New Orleans because I’ve grown tremendously, met some wonderful people, ate some great food, been to some great places and events, and discovered my passion for education! I wish everyone could feel the love I have for AmeriCorps!

IMG_4528

Downtown NOLA

In the next few weeks, I will be returning to my home, North Carolina, to start my next AmeriCorps term. I guess I just can’t get enough of it! I am super excited to be able to serve back home and be closer to my loved ones. I will certainly miss New Orleans and the amazing friends I’ve made here, but I think it’s time for me to go. I want to take my passion, love, and knowledge back home to my own community. I believe AmeriCorps has made me even more dedicated to serving others, especially those at home. I know that being home will make me more invested in my work because I have a personal connection to the area. Tar Heel born and bred!

IMG_4583

I love my AmeriCorps family!

I’m thankful to the Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA leadership, VISTA members, my church family, friends, and the ARISE Academy staff, students, and families for making this past year of my life absolutely life changing! I will never be the same! I am thankful for everyone who’s truly had my back and given me encouragement throughout my term. I know it’s because of these folks that I’ve had such a great year. I honestly can’t say I’ve had the most successful and positive AmeriCorps term, but I think I’ve learned just as much, if not more, from the bad times as I have from the good times. The support, love, and laughs from my AmeriCorps team and friends made my time here memorable. I love you all and I will be back to visit soon! Who Dat!!!

IMG_4598

My first picture taken with some of my fellow VISTAs last year. Also, my first NFL game! Who dat!

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
