Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

My First Essence Festival!

I would have to say that last weekend was probably one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time! I attended my first Essence Festival with two of my sorority sisters who traveled all the way from North Carolina! There was so much to do all weekend, so I was certainly worn out by the end! Of course, I can’t give you the play by play of my entire weekend, but I’ll share some of the highlights!

IMG_7375

It’s me!

My Essence experience began on Thursday night with a concert featuring Jazmine Sullivan, K. Michelle, Trey Songz, and Nas! It was absolutely amazing to be able to see hip hop legend, Nas, perform! After Thursday, we attended seminars and concerts from Friday morning until Sunday night. The seminars and other day activities took place at the Convention Center, while the concerts took place at night at the Superdome! My two favorite seminars were hosted by Steve Harvey, then Melissa Harris-Perry and Alicia Keys. Steve Harvey spoke about success, while Melissa Harris-Perry and Alicia Keys spoke on the issue of HIV/AIDS. Both seminars were very enlightening and inspirational! My favorite concert performers were Prince, Jill Scott, and Mary J. Blige! I’m not a big fan of Prince but he’s an awesome performer! Jill Scott’s vocal range is mind blowing, and I couldn’t stop jamming to all of Mary’s songs! They are all such talented artists, and I’ll always remember it!

IMG_7360

Nas, the legend!

Overall, my first Essence Festival was a success and I can’t wait to come back in the future! I hope the artists are just as great next year! I know that having that experience with my sorority sisters made it that much more fun and meaningful! I’m truly thankful to be able to have experiences such as these because I want to enjoy my life as much as possible!

IMG_7423

My sorority sister, Ashley, and I with Jill Scott’s saxophonist, Mike Phillips! He was amazing!

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
