Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: ARISE Academy – Natalie Wiggins

LEAP into testing! This past week our 3rd-6th graders have been knee deep in tests. They have been pushing through, and everything has been going well! My love and respect for teachers and school administrators has certainly grown over these past few months at ARISE. They work long hours all week, but still are able to come to school with a smile and ready to tackle the tasks for each day!

LEAP

This weekend, our 5th and 6th grade girls will be attending a leadership conference at Tulane University. Thanks to the wonderful members of the Mortar Board at Tulane, they decided to organize this conference for our girls. The Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership and service. We are truly grateful that they decided to work with ARISE! The girls seem to be very excited about this, and I am as well!

I love anything that involves uplifting and encouraging our youth because it’s so important to give them the knowledge to succeed in every aspect of life. If more people just took the time to invest in our kids and care for them, then the world would be a better place! I hope that our girls are able to learn a lot, but also have fun! The more I interact with the kids here, the more I’m becoming attached to them. It’s also helping me realize how much I want to work in a school.

Tulane VISTA

You have to be prepared for anything when working in a school, but you learn how to deal with so many different situations. I wouldn’t trade this experience for anything in the world because I’m growing so much personally and professionally. I’m so appreciative for even being given the opportunity to work here at ARISE Academy, and I will always be grateful for the support from the Tulane VISTA team and also the ARISE staff for being so awesome!

Information

This entry was posted on April 23, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
