Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Homer A. Plessy Community School

 

IMG_0789 This past month has been  busy time for me both personally and professionally. I celebrated my first birthday in New Orleans with fellow VISTA’s as well as with the lovely ladies of the Sistahs Making A Change exercise group at the Ashe Cultural Arts Center. At Homer A. Plessy Community School we held our first Silent Auction in conjunction with Morris Jeff Community School and I ate my first official crawfish.

IMG_0724

March Birthday Celebrations at Ashe Cultural Arts Center with fellow SISTAH’s

 

I love to dance, I love to take dance classes and I would prefer that they be free, so when I was introduced to the SISTAH’s Making a Change program by a friend I knew I had to try it out. Not only do I now have scheduled two days a week of cardio exercises I also have a new network of older women willing to take me under their wing here in the city of New Orleans. Interestingly enough I’ve never really celebrated my birthday with much grandeur but all birthdays at Ashe are celebrated by the month they come in so I shared the celebrations with none other than Mama Jamilah and Miss Marissa Joseph. We ate delicious and healthy foods instead of dancing for one evening and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

 

My next excursion in the Month of March/ April was the Silent Auction fundraiser held at Cafe Istanbul in the Bywater. The event was a joint effort between Morris Jeff Community School and Homer A. Plessy Community school to raise funds for the 2014-2015 school year. The silent auction featured works from each of the classrooms within the schools and several of the artisan parents that make up the Plessy Community. I myself purchased a print of a New Orleans in the 1920’s while in a heated battle with a Parent from Morris Jeff over the piece. The night was a success and will be repeated as an annual event.

 

crawfest

Crawfest 2014 with Wendy Liu, a fellow AmeriCorps VISTA

The third and final major event that recently happened was the Crawfest. Held on Tulane University’s main uptown campus, Crawfest is an event that celebrates the beginning of crawfish season. As a fun fact if you were interested, crawfish are pronounced “cray-fish” in the great state of Rhode Island and nobody catches and eats them (ever). This was my first experience eating crawfish and I must say it is one that I will never forget. I went with a friend from the south who taught me the proper way to eat a crawfish. I am not a vegetarian and I have eaten lobster (crawfish’s larger cousin), but I fully admit to being squeamish about sucking the juices from the head of this animal.  I have no problem with the tail but I was told that I cannot be a native Louisianan since I can’t eat the whole of the crawfish.

 

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
