Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: ARISE Academy – Natalie Wiggins

Natalie Wiggins serves at ARISE Academy

Natalie Wiggins serves at ARISE Academy

What inspires me? What motivates me? What am I truly passionate about? These are questions that have been on my mind a lot lately. As I think about my work at ARISE, the work that others do at ARISE, other activities I’m involved in, as well as my potential future endeavors, I can’t help but wonder what’s my true purpose. So often, I believe many of us wonder about what career path to choose, or what kind of organizations we should get involved with in the community. As cliché as it sounds, I’m learning to follow my heart.

You know what motivates me? People motivate me. My compassion and desire to make a difference in the lives of others, that’s what keeps me going. I look at the kids at school, people in the community, and even my own family and friends, and I want the best for them. I want people to live up to their potential. I want people to experience pure joy and happiness. I want people to be successful, by whatever definition they have set for success. I know life can be hard and unfair, but I want people to have faith and hope, no matter what situations they face. All of that may sound really cheesy, but I just believe life is more than about yourself, it’s about helping one another and lifting each other up. I never want to be so absorbed in my own desires and become selfish, that I forget about my fellow man.

I know I am far from being where I want to be, or even where I need to be, but I’m making progress. The two following quotes come to mind when I think about inspiration, motivation, and life in general:

Quote 1

Quote 2

It’s so easy to obsess over the future, but don’t forget to enjoy the here and now. So I say, do what excites you and just appreciate where you are in life.

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
