Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

The Power of Knowledge

Headshot

Natalie Wiggins, ARISE Academy
Community Engagement Coordinator

Wow…I’ve really been in New Orleans for 6 months! Time is really flying by! Gosh, the year will be over before I know it. I can certainly say that the new year has been good to me. So, I’ve been at ARISE for a little over a month now, but I still feel like I’m trying to get my footing here and I’m always learning new things. I’m happy about the things I’ve done thus far, and even more excited about the projects ahead!

But I have to tell you all about some great events I attended this past weekend. One of them being a talk by Deon Haywood, Executive Director of Women With A Vision. She is such a wonderful woman! I truly admire her strength, honesty, and determination. It’s inspiring to meet someone so loving and dedicated to making sure that there is fair and equal treatment for all people. She’s not afraid to speak her mind and stand up for what is right. I’m happy to see people like that in the community!

Another event I attended, was a training on school policy and discipline. The training was awesome! I learned so much, in just one day! I loved hearing from people that are actually from New Orleans and went to school here, because these are the people who give you the truth about what’s actually happened here, and what’s going on here now. Also, meeting people who are just as passionate, and even more passionate about education and truly helping our youth, only motivated and inspired me to take part and do more. It truly makes me feel good to know that there are still good people in this world, who are motivated by more than just money.

I’m so grateful to be a member of AmeriCorps because it’s changing my life for the better.

AmeriCorps

Yes, I love it!

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports and tagged , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
