Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

On the Horizon: ARISE Academy – Natalie Wiggins

As 2013 came to a close, I couldn’t help but think about all the lessons I’ve learned since I began my AmeriCorps term in August. One thing I will say is this, don’t be afraid to ask for help. We’re only human, and no one knows everything. It’s been a bit of a bumpy road, but I must say that overall, I love being a VISTA! I wouldn’t trade my experiences for anything, because it’s molding me into a better person.

ARISE-Jan2014.2

ARISE Academy Logo

Since returning from the holiday break, I’ve been working at ARISE Academy. I’m so thankful for this opportunity to get an inside look into one of my passions, education, and how a school is run. So far, it’s been a very interesting experience. The staff here is awesome and I’ve definitely enjoyed working with them. It’s also very apparent that the students, or scholars, as they are referred to here, are highly valued and loved. Every day, my appreciation grows for teachers and everyone that works in a school. It’s certainly not an easy job! I must say, the New Orleans culture is much different from what I’m used to, as someone who was born and raised in North Carolina. I’m always trying to learn more about the city and the people in it.

IMG_5589

Awesome mural inside the school office!

I’m still in the process of learning about the school and my duties, while also determining what I’d like my lasting impact to be here. Over the next few months, I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to make significant contributions to the school. It’s very important to me that I make the most of my time here. I don’t have much to report just yet, but I will certainly have more come next month! Always remember, stay positive. The setbacks you may experience, will lead you to a greater victory!

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2014 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
