Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Louisiana Center for Children’s Rights

I cleaned off my desk... now what?

I cleaned off my desk… now what?

After the holiday mailing went out, things slowed down around the office. No looming grant deadlines, no December newsletter (we’re sending out one last fundraising appeal, instead). I enjoyed the slow pace for as long as it took to catch my breath – about an hour – and then I remembered: there is nothing worse than having nothing to do.

Of course, I had momentarily forgotten about the one task that is never erased from the to-do list, the task that hangs around like a dog, silent and statuesque, patiently eying you until he gets the attention he craves. The task of fundraising.

I finally had the time to do prospect research, which means surf the internet for foundations with funding priorities that encompass our organization’s mission. It’s time consuming and after hours of research, it’s fairly normal to come up empty-handed, or with 3-5 “meh” options. Or worse, you find great matches only to discover they do not accept unsolicited proposals, or are undergoing a strategic planning process, etc. This can be really disheartening. Luckily, my latest endeavor resulted in a couple of options – at least enough to keep me busy with applications until the holiday break begins.

Speaking of which, tonight is our office party! I am making sausage crostinis. Here’s the recipe (if you’re looking for an easy app to bring to your own party):

  • 1 package of Italian sausage – I normally use just two of the four links but use what you prefer
  • 1 8 ounce package of cream cheese
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese (the special ingredient is provel cheese; unfortunately this is only sold in St. Louis. Substitute with your favorite kind. I am going to use Italian)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 1 long loaf of French bread (or two short loaves)
  • Spices &/or herbs at your discretion (basil, rosemary, or even just pepper to flavor)

Preheat the oven to 300. Cook the sausage in a pan, break up into crumbles. Mix sausage into a bowl with cream cheese, shredded cheese, onion, and anything extra you want to add. Cut the French bread into slices. Place a hearty spoonful of the mixture on each slice and throw in the oven for 15 minutes, or until it looks melted, browned and ready.

Happy feasting!

SJE

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2013 by in Louisiana Center for Children's Rights.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
