Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: A’s & Aces

Chao.Oct2It has been an interesting month for A’s & Aces. This month, I mainly focused on a fundraising project through Entergy. It involves filming a video of Entergy employees coming out and volunteering in the community, and crowdsourcing to acquire votes to win money. First place prize was $5,000!

After arriving on the site to film our volunteer, I had realized that the Saturday Clinic during tropical storm Karen was cancelled. So, I filmed the whole video without actual service. Instead, I used pictures of what we usually do.

Once the video was up on the Facebook page the day after the deadline, voting began. For a whole week, I tabled in the LBC at Tulane to gather votes. I usually got around 40 votes a day standing there for around 7 hours. Tulane students did not seem too eager to spend 30 seconds to help out our nonprofit. This was pretty disappointing since I had to deal with “No’s” 9/10 times when I approached students. However, when I did get them to spare a few seconds to vote, I was able to tell them about A’s & Aces and do some outreach work on campus. In the end, we did not make it to the top 3 most popular videos list. Although unfortunate, I learned a lot from this experience about what works and what does not.

Another exciting thing that happened this month was that A’s & Aces was selected as the #1 NJTL (National Junior Tennis Learning) Chapter in the United States. Representatives flew in and made a pretty successful video of our work. Our board president, Anna Monhartova, is flying to Denver to accept the award.

Chao.Oct1

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2013 by in A's & Aces.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
