Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Girls on the Run New Orleans

We’re about halfway through the season for Girls on the Run! It’s crazy how time is just flying by! I really can’t believe we’ve almost reached that point, and it’s even more unbelievable that I’ve been in New Orleans for two months now! That may not seem like a long time, but for someone who’s never actually lived outside of North Carolina, it’s pretty awesome!

Hard at work!

Hard at work!

Things have slowed down a tad bit now that we are into the season. We are now focusing our efforts on various tasks, like our 5K on December 8 for the girls and their running buddies (people who run the race with them, in order to encourage them along the way). Completing the race is such a big accomplishment for the girls, and I’m excited to be there to witness it!

Run, girls, run!

Run, girls, run!

Another big thing that’s occurred since my last post, I signed up to be a Solemate!! I know you’re wondering, what’s a Solemate?? It is any adult that wants to raise money for Girls on the Run, while training for any athletic event of their choosing (10K, Marathon, etc.). So, in a nutshell, it’s charity running! I’ll be running the Rock N Roll half marathon on February 2, 2014. This is my first ever half marathon, or any big race for that matter! I know it’s not going to be easy, but I’m ready for the challenge! I’ve become so inspired by Girls on the Run, that I’ve decided to take on this race! Y’all, pray for me…but seriously.

That’s all for now! Until next time!

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2013 by in VISTA Field Reports.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
