Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Youth Rebuilding New Orleans

They pay us for this?

OK, so maybe that’s a joke not every VISTA could love.

But seriously, I could not be enjoying myself more at Youth Rebuilding New Orleans. Since my first post here in August, I’ve completed several more grant applications and feel much more comfortable with the writing portion of the process—to the point where I consider beating a deadline by 12 minutes to be an early-bird submission.

More of you can probably laugh at that one.

I’ve also been involved in many other YRNO activities in recent weeks. We had a successful fundraising event last month at Dirty Coast, where the T-shirts flew off the shelves and the jambalaya flowed.  The following week, we were a host site for Tulane’s Outreach Day of Service, our first Saturday rebuilding event for the fall semester. More than 20 students joined us at our South Salcedo Street properties.

This month, we had a table at Tulane’s Making a Difference Service Fair, where we lured students in with a candy corn counting contest and 14 of them signed up as potential interns. We’re hoping some of them can help us make videos for the Companies With a Mission Super Service Challenge.

Volunteer coordination is a bit more challenging than I expected since we’re overloaded with requests to work on Saturdays and during spring break, with the rest of the calendar relatively unpopulated. But I’m most proud of organizing a special Sunday volunteer event for Tulane athletes, which was featured on the school’s web site and in the Hullabaloo.  I even pitched in and got sweaty and dirty myself, just like the old days before I was a VISTA. Good times!

I’m also happy to report that my efforts to get the YRNO blog going have resulted in a major change to our home page. Now we feature the three most recent posts rather than the same ol’ pictures every time you visit.

Last but not least, I attended another Saints victory in the Superdome, against those dirty birds from Atlanta. We’ve got a new defense and I’m here to bring our boys another trophy!

WHO DAT!

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2013 by in VISTA Field Reports, Youth Rebuilding New Orleans.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
