Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Kedila Family Learning Services

In spite of Hurricane Isaac, this month has been a productive one for Kedila as we have worked to prepare for our After School program.  For the first time, Kedila will be operating its After School program during school hours at Banneker Elementary and Middle Schools.  Classes now end at 4:50 pm at Banneker, so Kedila will be working with students for the last 2 hours of the school day (2:30-4:30 pm).  We are excited to be operating at Banneker for our sixth year, and we may be expanding to more sites soon due to more funding from the Department of Education.

This month has also been a month of firsts for me.  Mr. Dipo had business cards made for me, so I had the chance to learn how networking works in the business world by giving out and receiving my first business card.  Additionally, I wrote my first five grants, learning how to write the narrative of what Kedila does and what to emphasize for each specific proposal.  I attended my first service fairs at Loyola and Tulane where I recruited my first service learners and volunteers.  I learned how to better communicate the mission and vision of Kedila while gauging students’ interest and determining how much information they wanted about my organization.  For the first time, I experienced the aftermath of a hurricane as a resident of downtown New Orleans, and I volunteered for the first time at the NOLA 311 Call Center following Hurricane Isaac.  This experience taught me the value of preparation and also how to think better on my feet to answer calls that ranged from animal cruelty concerns to trash pick-up requests.

Kedila Family Learning Services is “Where the Journey to Learning Begins,” but not just for the students we serve.  It is also where my journey to learning begins as an AmeriCorps VISTA.

 

– Betsy Bateman, Tulane AmeriCorps VISTAKedila Family Learning Center

 

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2012 by in VISTA Field Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
