Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Puentes New Orleans

I have gone through a patch of bad luck, or voodoo if you will, this past month. From lost wallet to pharyngitis to ticking off a Voodoo Priestess, it has been an eventful past month. However, recently, things have been looking up. Found a 7 year old umbrella that I thought I lost last week, I manifested a free coffee and brand new creamer, My Roomie even partook in an all-day movie-day for the last 2 Sundays.  But for the best news, drum roll please: My Executive Director and new Supervisor have shown me guidance and support by defining what my role in the development of the new youth project will be!!  My Vista Assignment Description is being modified and I feel like I have a grasp on the work that is needed from me over the next 5 months.

My boss thinks that my experience with youth and my “exceptional writing and research skills” can contribute to a best practices research project. This research will focus on what components of a functional program strengthen ties between parents and children in the Latino community. Also, now that we are a National Council of La Raza (NCLR) affiliate I will have access to many resources and information on Latino Youth programs around the country.

Other than finding my niche in the office, I have also been kept busy with attending registration drives, Welcoming Louisiana Picnics and other benefits or events where Puentes needs representation. I have been trying to take advantage of as many free Webinars as possible; from How to Captivate and Engage Your Constituents to Great Events with Social Media for Nonprofits & Eventbrite.

I have a feeling that now that I am getting into the groove of things, these next 5 months are going to fly by. I will have more to update next time.

Thanks for reading!

Our photographer captured people with signs expressing a particular feeling or thought about immigrants living in our city at our first ever Welcoming picnic!

-Sadira Glendenning, Tulane CPS AmeriCorps VISTA, Puentes New Orleans

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

2 comments on “Field Report: Puentes New Orleans

  1. Emdogg
    June 28, 2012

    I always enjoy reading your updates. Glad to hear your project is picking up and your responsibilities are becoming more defined! They are lucky to have you working for them.

    • me
      July 2, 2012

      Aww, you’re the best Em.

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
