Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Center for Urban and Regional Affairs

 

The first few months of my service, my projects were focused on figuring out what people living in the Minneapolis/St. Paul Metro area liked, disliked, and wanted within their communities.  As I’ve said before, I was quite surprised to hear all of the responses I received once people felt that someone was genuinely interested in hearing their thoughts and concerns. Now, I’m transitioning into what I like to call the “community engagement” portion of my service. Basically, the big question I have been working on and will continue to work on over the next couple of months is, “How can we get community members engaged in the planning process so that solutions can be developed to effectively address some of their questions and concerns” ?  So far, I’ve been doing research to figure out what kind of programs other cities such as Chicago, Philadelphia, and Seattle are implementing in order to get their communities involved. My hope is that the information I’ve been gathering will help myself, and others that I work with here at CURA  get some ideas and figure out which direction to go in next.

– Brooke Henderson, TNVNET AmeriCorps VISTA, Center for Urban and Regional Affairs, University of Minnesota

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
