Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Puentes New Orleans

Has it really been 3 months in New Orleans already?! I can’t believe it. Time flies when you are busy. As far as work is concerned things were at a slow lull, I had been spending most of my time creating this volunteer survey which I recently conducted. The responses via email and letters have been minimal, so I plan on calling the remaining volunteers. But so far, I have gathered valuable opinions and interests from our volunteers that will help me understand how to better engage them in the future. Capacity building, capacity building, capacity building; is my main goal as a VISTA. Volunteer engagement and retention is a key factor in the success of that goal. So I feel like my time is being well spent here. I’ve also started orientations and coordinating our 27 service learners from Tulane University. Trying to get them all to meet in one place has been a headache. In the end I was able to get all of them to come in to the office for 2 different orientation slots. SUCCESS!

 

Work keeps me busy, but it’s also the season for parties and parades. I am currently in the midst of my first Mardi Gras Season experience. Holy parades! I saw my favorite one so far last Sunday; Krewe de Barkus, the only Mardi Gras Krewe in New Orleans by and for the canine population.

 

 

During these times especially, I can feel the vivacious energy that New Orleanians emit. It’s a mixture of pride, excitement and unity. Fat Tuesday is next week and I am very excited to see the world renowned festivities.

 

* I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about person by the way he/she handles these three things: a practical joke, change of plans, and a missed deadline.

 

-Sadira Glendenning, Tulane CPS AmeriCorps VISTA, Puentes New Orleans

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

2 comments on “Field Report: Puentes New Orleans

  1. Emily
    March 14, 2012

    It is great to hear about the awesome things you are doing in New Orleans. They are lucky to have you!

    • Sadira
      March 14, 2012

      Thanks Em!! I appreciate the support!

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
