Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: Puentes New Orleans

My name is Sadira and thanks for reading my first blog post! I am three weeks into my year of Service here in New Orleans and so far it has been inspiring. I work with an organization called Puentes New Orleans. And I can’t seem to put together anything other than run on sentences to explain my time here so far. Here goes; The staff at Puentes  are going through some executive transitions so they are short handed; over worked, crunched for time…the reality for many non-profits. Within two days I was trained on how make the news letter, how to update listserv, how to post via wordpress, how to use The twitter (which still escapes me), how to organize and recruit volunteers, the application and waiver process of volunteers…and so on. Within another 48 hours I was introduced to my neighborhood rat pack (a literal pack of about 15 rats), heard 30 sirens and made my new apartment a home with my wonderful pro-Portland roomie, Lora. Needless to say, my move to NOLA has been eventful. Serving for hard working non-profit, learning hard skills, living downtown in one of the most exciting cities, gaining a whole litter of pets, having an urban musical in the background all the while, has been exciting. Truly enlivening and I am very much looking forward to the next year.
 “Change is the law of life and those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.”
—John F. Kennedy
About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
