Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

FIELD REPORT: TULANE VISTA LEADER

It is the end of my term. I can’t believe that it has arrived. These past three month have come and gone so quickly it is hard for me to grasp.  When I first accepted this position I didn’t know what to expect exactly. When I first applied to the Tulane AmeriCorps program I was interested in being a regular VISTA. When Michael told me they didn’t have any openings for the regular VISTA program but where recruiting for a VISTA Leader and was wondering if I would be interested in that position I was taken back for a moment. After reflecting on my first year where I didn’t necessarily have the support of a supervisor or a relationship with a VISTA Leader, I had learned that having a strong support system is crucial to staying focused and feeling like you are making progress. Thus due to my lack of support inspired me to take this position. I wanted to make sure that this group of individuals that where dedicating a year of their life to service felt like they had someone fighting for them at all times. This year has been both challenging and beneficial.

Challenges:                                                                                        Things I Learned:

Having to repeat myself                                                                  People like events that involve food

Keeping others organized                                                               How to behave better in a Professional setting

Overcoming the fear of asking questions                                  Not to take things personally

Facilitating Reflections                                                                    Listening is an important tool  

Being flexible/ sometimes improvising                                    The more organized you are, the more

    Confronting conflicts                                                                     appreciative people are towards you

This was great year! I have never challenged myself more personally and professionally prior to this. I really enjoyed working with everyone that I met this year and am going to miss them dearly. I have also had the opportunity to explore a field of work that I may end up making my career. Who knew I could kill two birds with one stone! I am so glad and proud that I did two years of AmeriCorps VISTA. I couldn’t ask for a better learning experience and adventure!

 

 -Cassie Lemon, Tulane AmeriCorps VISTA Leader, Tulane Center for Public Service

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

2 comments on “FIELD REPORT: TULANE VISTA LEADER

  1. Priscila Benzing
    March 23, 2012

    I think this is among the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  2. Vincent
    September 20, 2011

    Cassie, thank you for your service!

Comments are closed.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
