Tulane VISTA Blog

Fighting Poverty with Passion

Field Report: UROC

Gracie vs. the Peanut Butter Jar

“Your know how to cut to the core of me Baxter.  You’re like a miniature Buddha covered in hair” –Anchormen: The Legend of Ron Burgundy.

I want to introduce you all to my own miniature Buddha covered in hair. Her name is Gracie and she’s a 1.5 year old cavapoo. Most recently her doggy wisdom has taught me about creativity, forgiveness, courage, and tenacity. Gracie vs. the Peanut Butter Jar is about tenacity.

A few days ago, one of my roommates gave Gracie an almost empty peanut butter jar as a treat. Gracie had a mission- lick the peanut butter jar completely clean. She spent four days trying to get all the peanut butter out of that jar. Her little tongue was too short to reach to the bottom of the jar and her head is too big to fit in the jar so she couldn’t get that last bit of peanut butter out of the bottom.

She ripped off the jar’s label and even tried to destroy the jar to get to the peanut butter.

This tenacious little dog would not give up on that little bit of oh-so-precious peanut butter. Yes, yes, after watching this go on for nearly a week I got a rubber spatula and scraped out the peanut butter before recycling this container.

My miniature Buddha covered in hair made me think about what I am tenaciously committed to in the various aspects of my life.  As an AmeriCorps VISTA I know that I am committed to ensuring that my projects are valuable and well done.  I constantly strive to learn from the experiences and opportunities granted to me through my service.  As I look to the end of my first term of service in November, I am searching for a post-November plan that I can be tenaciously and flexibly committed to.  I’ll keep you posted!

Amanda Quiner, TNVNET AmeriCorps VISTA @ Urban Research and Outreach/Engagement Center

About Tulane VISTA

Notes from the field from the AmeriCorps VISTA team at Tulane University.

Tools

Follow Tulane VISTA Blog on WordPress.com

Follow us on twitter!

Follow us on Instagram!

Join our community partner @cafereconcile for #PayWhatYouCanDay
